Bez kategorii · Bookish post

My 10 favourite quotes on books and reading

Last week I was searching for inspirational quotes on books and reading for my work assignment. This motivated me to gather my favorite and inspirational quotes of writers, politicians and businessmen.  Definitely, some of the below quotes are not the most famous but they are special for me… humble booklover20160402_121008.

  1. “Whenever you read a good book, somewhere in the world a door opens to allow in more light”      Vera Nazarian
  2. “Books allow you to fully explore a topic and immerse yourself in a deeper way than most media today” Mark Zuckerberg
  3. “I really had a lot of dreams when I was a kid, and I think a great deal of that grew out of the fact that I had a chance to read a lot” Bill Gates
  4. “At that moment that we persuade a child, any child, to cross that threshold, that magic threshold into library, we change their lives forever, for the better. It’s an enormous force for good” Barack Obama
  5. “A good day is one where I can not just read a book, but write a review of it. Maybe today I’ll be able to do that. I get for some reason somewhat stronger when the sun starts to go down. Dusk is a good time for me. I’m crepuscular” Christopher Hitchens
  6. “I love the smell of  book ink in the morning“Umberto Eco
  7. “Sometimes I sensed that the books I read in rapid succession had set up some sort of murmur among themselves, transforming my head into an orchestra pit where different musical instruments sounded out, and I would realize that I could endure this life because of these musicales going on in my head” Orhan Pamuk
  8. “If you only read the books that everyone is reading, you can only think what everyone is thinking” Haruki Murakami
  9. “I think we ought to read only the kind of books that would or stab us. If the book we’re reading doesn’t make us up with a blow to the head, what are we reading for?” Franz Kafka
  10. “If people buy my book for vanity, I consider it a tax on idiocy” Umberto Eco

Let’s read, booklovers!

7 thoughts on “My 10 favourite quotes on books and reading

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them! They are all honestly really great and amazing.
    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is literally amazing and I truly am so happy that I have come across it because I really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you! So keep it up (:
    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for your kind words! I also like your blog and I think your reviews are really great. Definitely I will follow your posts.

    Like

  3. # 7 was particularly interesting – not that I know much about reading books in rapid succession, because I’m a slow reader – but I do read multiple books at the same time, so I get this murmuring effect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

